vogue 1247

I don’t make too many loose fitting clothes, lest I look muumuu-clad.  But in the dog days of summer, when you lie melting into the couch, a little relaxed top is heavenly.  This is the new Rachel Comey pattern for Vogue.

It has a wide, v neck and  cuffed, elbow length, dolman style sleeves.

There are shoulder pleats

and the front is cut in sections, with the bottom torso being made up of four different pieces.

My fabric was a squirrely rayon crepe from Sawyer Brook.  It fought hard and I had to re-do the cuffs and re-sew the back seam, but I think I won the war.  The top looks very much like the original, although my back hem doesn’t gracefully flow down, like the model’s.  My hem resides contentedly on my derriere.  Maybe the fabric won a battle or two, but I’m guessing it needed more than 2-3″ ease at the hip.  It doesn’t create an eye sore, so I’m ok with it.

This top doesn’t have much hanger appeal, but it’s lovely to wear with fitted pants or a skirt.

Serious pose!

