Philadelphia is gorgeous and so friendly.  I came back from PR Weekend exhausted, fabric-laden and friend rich.

I missed the workshop and museum trip on Friday but caught up with the group for dinner on Friday.  I’ve been eating few carbs recently, so the pasta fare seemed pretty exotic.  On Saturday we hit the shops.  We started with the fabric district in Philadelphia itself.  I splurged on one piece only, which, of course, glitters:

I think it’s a wool with metallic thread, but the weave is kind of loose, allowing for fairly big spaces in the fabric.  It’s kind of a poor woman’s Linton Tweed.  It’s begging to be a Chanel jacket, but that’s so obvious, I’m reluctant to commit to it.  In the stash it goes.

After lunch, we hit London Textiles, where I spotted three pieces I’d bought from Emma One Sock already.  The prices were higher, but so was the quality.

Stretch cotton.  This time, it’s the poor woman’s Liberty print.  I tend not to sew up my real Liberty stash.  I’ve got pieces going back twenty years.  They’re so beautiful and some of them are memory keepers of who and where I was when I bought them.

Silky jersey.  I thought it was a good quality Italian viscose knit, but I paid anyway.  There’s a theme developing now regarding my color choices:

Pink, fuschia, red, cream, black.  (The purple was an unloved piece left over from the ‘ugly’ fabric swap.)  My favorite is the embroidered piece:

It’s loosely knitted in black with the cross hatch embroidery in the red color range.  It’s impractical and probably won’t ever get sewn up, but sometimes pieces need to come home with you. I also picked up some crinkled rayon faille in charcoal (the top one in the stack photo), which is chic and easy care.  If I ever have a job other than walking to school, it’d be a perfect work wardrobe piece.

Back on the bus to Jomar’s, I picked up some lovely linens and a (now tainted) wool jersey.

Very lightweight black, lightweight cream, dress weight coral – all linens, enough of each for big, retro dresses.  The wool jersey was, of course, fuschia and there was a lot of confusion over who had it first and who was waiting.  I wound up getting the last piece, but it seems that whoever found it first, didn’t get any.  Yikes.  A bit of a bum note, but not enough to spoil the day.

I had dinner with a lovely bunch of ladies and stumbled into bed.  There was a breakfast get together on Sunday, but I slept through it.  Once I was conscious again, I spent about 5 hours tromping through old city.  I went to Independence Hall, Liberty Bell and just walked and walked.  Every corner you turn, there’s some little historic plate or cute discovery.  The whole area is a step back in time and a condensed history of American independence.  So much fun.

Independence Hall

See that chair in the back, on the dais, George Washington rested his derriere upon it.  This is the room where they hashed out the Declaration of Independence.

It occurred to me that having lived in Colorado for so long, it’s hilarious that I found a couple of centuries of history so impressive.  I’ve lived in Asia and Europe.  Modern American history is a short blip in human existence, but when you live in a town where a 100 year old residence is a historic presence, Philadelphia is very impressive.  The upside with a young country is the great level of preservation.  It’s not usually crumbling or knocked down to turn in to a mall or something.  It’s available and appreciable.  I loved Philadelphia.  Go visit.

